Lucy and Todd

Peter Burnett–The Studio Game

In Stuff We Like on August 27, 2013 at 1:37 pm

We just read this and we love it. It’s a bitter, wry, sad, wild, thoughtful adventure around the contemporary art world and what a mixed-up state it’s in. It’s also a tender book about love and Marcel Duchamp, wonderfully anti capitalist, anti conformist, and pro ocean bottom.

‘All my life I had been an artist. I had let the idea run riot fifty seven minutes every hour. That left two minutes for dreaming – thirty seconds for doubting – fifteen seconds for loving the world – seven seconds for resolving that I could do something about it, and four seconds for high consciousness. For two seconds of each hour I stared at my hands or felt my trousers – and for one second every hour I allowed my normally sublimated sexual desire a chance to think what it wanted. Half a second every hour of the day was spent in fright, and a half of that was spent in remembering my childhood. You can calculate my free time from there.’

Fledgling Press, Edinburgh. Go get it.

***

NEWS ALERT!!!

Registration is now open for Under the Volcano’s 2014 writing master classes in Tepoztlán, Mexico.

Featured faculty include Paul Muldoon, Francisco Goldman, Catherine Filloux, Jonathan Levi and Alison Wearing as well as guest writers from Mexico and elsewhere.

The January 2014 program includes a new extended residency option that allows master class participants to customize an individual retreat that builds on their workshop experience.

See: http://www.underthevolcano.org

  1. […] Peter Burnett–The Studio Game. […]

Leave a Reply

